Blue Danube….the thing is….

Standard

The thing is,

to love life, to love it even 

when you have no stomach for it

and everything you’ve held dear

crumbles like burnt paper in your hands,

your throat filled with the silt of it.

When grief sits with you, its tropical heat 

thickening the air, heavy as water

more fit for gills than lungs;

when grief weights you like your own flesh,

only more of it, an obesity of grief,

you think, How can a body withstand this?

Then you hold life like a face

between your palms, a plain face…

no charming smile, no violet eyes;

and you say, yes, I will take you,

I will love you…..again.

-Ellen Bass

Image

4 responses »

    • Oh thank you so very much. I liked the way the colors blended and worked together in this painting. I am so happy you enjoyed it…that is why I paint…in the hopes that others can find some beauty to add to their day.:) Best to you Miss Brave, Smart, and Bold. Have a wonderful day and weekend.

    • Thank you for the compliment but most of the poetry is not written by me:) I always credit the author if it is not me. I wish you the best of luck on your new blog. It can be slow-going at first; however, as time goes on you will get more traffic. I started my blog in April and it has been so very fulfilling for me. As a painter, it keeps me on my toes as I feel as if I need to be accountable to my loyal followers by posting new work. You know how it goes, sometimes a creative slump takes over and it becomes rather arduous to get back into your work. Thank you for stopping by my blog. Be well.

Leave a Reply

